Telecommunication companies have shut down GSM service in at least 13 local government areas of Katsina State.

On September 3, the Nigerian Communications Commission, NCC, issued a directive to telecom operators to shut down their services in Zamfara State to tame the rising security challenges in the state.

According to Daily Trust, the affected LGAs are Sabuwa, Faskari, Dandume, Batsari, Danmusa, Kankara, Jibia, Safana, Dutsin-Ma and Kurfi that are on the fringes of the Ruggu forest where most of the bandits are hiding.

The other three include Funtua, Bakori and Malumfashi.

This comes a few days after the NCC denied plan to shut down telecom sites in Katsina.

NCC had refuted a trending social media story claiming that the commission had ordered telecom service providers to shut down their sites in Katsina.